St Marychurch Church of England Primary and Nursery School Logo

St George's CofE Primary Academy

Interactive bar

Google Services


Governors page


As Chair of Governors I welcome you to our governance page.


Our Governing Body supports St George's C of E Primary Academy.  We are part of St Christopher’s Multi Academy Trust, and our delegated authority and responsibilities are clearly defined by the MAT board of directors. Governors are all volunteers with different skills and experience, but have a commitment to education and the schools, children, staff, parents and carers. All governors are part of the local governing body known as the LGB which meets every term and also hold various portfolios as part of either the resources or teaching and learning committees which also meet every term. School governors provide strategic leadership and accountability in the schools and its key functions are to:


  • set the aims and objectives for the school
  • set the policies for achieving those aims and objectives
  • set the targets for achieving those aims and objectives
  • monitor and evaluate the progress the school is making towards achievement of its aims and objectives
  • be a source of challenge and support to the headteacher (a critical friend)


It is a privilege to be part of this professional team across both schools, and our LGB works with a ‘hands on’ approach, and any discussion with parents and carers is most welcome.


Chair of Governors

Governors 2019-2020

Name Category of Governor Term of office Business Interests Pecuniary Interests Other governorships
Kelly Earnshaw Ex Officio Headteacher Post related      
Peter Barlow Foundation 1/4/19 - 30/3/23 Company Director of Outersight UK Parent  
Sophie Daykin Staff Governor

1/9/19 - 30/8/23

  Parent Governor



Anne Newall Foundation Governor 1/9/19 - 30/3/23 School Improvement Partner    
Mike O'Sullivan Foundation Governor

1/9/19 - 30/8/23

Sara Ryder Foundation Governor

7/10/19 - 9/10/23

Simon Springett Ex Officio Clergy Post Related      
Leann Tapp Parent Governor 17/1/20 - 16/1/24   Parent  


Governors have specific areas of responsibility:


Chair of Governors:  Peter Barlow

Vice Chair of Governors: Sara Ryder

Safeguarding Lead:  Anne Newall

If you wish to contact the Governing Body then please email  


Governor Attendance of Meetings - 2019-2020

Name 24/09/19 27/11/19 04/02/20 28/04/20 23/06/20
Kelly Earnshaw    
Peter Barlow    
Sophie Daykin Authorised    
Stacey Gallagher x x Resigned Resigned Resigned
Anne Newall Authorised    
Mike O'Sullivan Authorised    
Sara Ryder    
Simon Springett n/a Authorised    
Donna Stoneman x x Resigned resigned resigned
Leann Tapp - -    



Governor meeting minutes are held outside the school office for public viewing

Previous Governors

We are a newly formed Local Governing Board having previously been a joint LGB with St Matthew's, should you want any details of the previous LGB then please contact the clerk on


Information about the role of the Governors

School Motto

Building on firm foundations


Love, Inclusion, Guidance, Hope, Trust and Service

Get in touch

Contact Us